FerroSchool 2022

Geographic Location
Lyon Metropolitan Area, France
Lyon, France image

Event Menu

DEADLINE for submission of candidatures - 18 March 

FerroSchool is a brand-new educational event supported by IEEE Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, and Frequency Control Society (UFFC-S).

Held in Lyon - France - from 20th to 24th June 2022, it aims at bringing together students, postdocs and scientists at any career stage interested in ferroelectric materials. A general overview of fundamentals and applications of such materials will be given through lectures, practicals and demonstrations provided by academics internationally-recognized in the field and by companies known to the ferroelectric community. Scientific exchange and networking opportunities will be offered through a range of social activities including poster presentations facilitating participants to communicate on their own work with experts in the field.

  • Main objective: providing a wide educational overview of ferroelectric materials, from fundamentals to application perspectives, through state-of-the-art experimental and theoretical approaches.

  • Fundamentals of ferroelectrics and related materials (multiferroics, improper ferroelectrics, antiferroelectrics, relaxors, ferroelastics)
  • Ceramics, crystals, polymers, thin-film growth, processing
  • Structural, chemical, electrical characterizations
  • Electron, optical, atomic force-based microscopies and spectroscopies
  • Large facilities techniques
  • Modelling: first and second principles, mesoscale, phase field, compact
  • Applications of ferroelectrics: actuators/sensors, ferroelectric memories, microelectronics

Confirmed, on site

  • Caroline Borderon  Université de Nantes 
  • Eric Bousquet  CESAM Université Liège
  • Long-Qing Chen  Pennsylvania State University
  • Catherine Dubourdieu  Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie
  • Mael Guennou   University of Luxembourg 
  • Myung-Geun Han   Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Jacob L. Jones   North Carolina State University
  • Céline Lichtensteiger   Université de Genève
  • Barbara Mâlic   Jožef Stefan Institute
  • Martina Müller   Universität Konstantz
  • Uwe Schroeder  NamLab GmbH
  • Jutta Schwarzkopt   Leibniz-Institut für Kristallzüchtung
  • Zuo-Guang Ye   Simon Fraser University
  • Shujun Zhang   UOM Wollongong

At distance

  • Dennis G. Meier   Norwegian University of Science and Technology
additional details