Distinctions in 2019

May 10, 2020 | Contributed By - Zuleima Davis, Conference Catalysts, LLC

Each UFFC-S year is marked by the presentation of honors and awards to key contributors in the communities of Ultrasound, Ferroelectrics and Frequency Control. Here’s a quick look back at the awardees in 2019.

UFFC Society Awards:

The UFFC Society Awards were presented at the 2019 IEEE International Ultrasonics Symposium which was held in Glasgow, Scotland.

2019 Achievement Award

Peter A. Lewin

For pioneering contributions to ultrasound exposimetry and metrology and the impact they made on diagnostic and therapeutic ultrasound applications.


2019 Distinguished Service Award

Ken-ya Hashimoto

For a career of masterful leadership, dedicated service and commitment to the UFFC-Society in many positions including two Co-Chairmanships of the IEEE

International Ultrasonics Symposium, International Distinguished Lecturer, and AdCom Member


2018 Outstanding Paper Award (given in 2019)

Paul D. Wilcox and Jie Zhang

for the paper entitled “Quantification of the Effect of Array Element Pitch on Imaging Performance”

published in IEEE Transactions on Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, and Frequency Control, Vol. 65, No. 4, April 2018

2019 IEEE UFFC Society Awards Winners (From left to right: Ken-ya Hashimoto, Peter A. Lewin and Paul D. Wilcox)

Ultrasonics Awards:

Three annual IEEE Ultrasonics awards were presented at the 2019 IEEE International Ultrasonics Symposium which was held in Glasgow, Scotland.

2019 Rayleigh Award




Jørgen Arendt Jensen

Citation: For pioneering developments and outstanding contributions to advances in ultrasound imaging

Jørgen A. Jensen receiving the Rayleigh Award.(From left to right:  Nazanin Bassiri-Gharb, UFFC President; Sandy Cochran, IUS 2019 General Co-Chair, Jørgen A. Jensen, Peter A. Lewin and Jafar Saniie, Ultrasonics Awards Chair)


2019 Early Career Investigator Award




Songbin Gong

Citation: For pioneering lithium niobate lamb wave micro-acoustic devices for radio frequency applications.

Songbin Gong receiving the Ultrasonics Early Career Investigator award.(From left to right: Jafar Saniie, Ultrasonics Awards Chair; Ben P. Abbott; Songbin Gong; Nazanin Bassiri-Gharb, UFFC President; and Sandy Cochran, IUS 2019 General Co-Chair)



2019 Carl Hellmuth Ultrasonic Award



Jan D’hooge

Citation: For Ground-breaking contributions to the field of echocardiography and ultrasound imaging technologies that impacted both fundamental research and clinical cardiology.

Jan D’hooge receiving the Carl Helmuth Hertz Award.(From left to right: Jafar Saniie, Ultrasonics Awards Chair; Jan D’hooge, Mickael Tanter and Sandy Cochran, IUS 2019 General Co-Chair)



IEEE UFFC Society Awards and Recognition for Ferroelectrics were presented at the joint Conference, “F22 2019” that united  ISAF with several other international and European symposia in Lausanne, Switzerland, from July 14th to 19th, 2019.

2019 Ferroelectric Recognition Award

Roger Whatmore (Imperial College)

Citation: For varied and enduring translations of fundamental materials phenomena into practical use


2019 IEEE Robert E. Newnham Ferroelectrics Award

Zuo-Guang Ye (Simon Fraser University)

Citation: For seminal contributions to understanding and applying crystal chemical fundamentals in Pb-based piezo crystals


2019 Ferroelectrics Young Investigator Award

Lane Martin (University of California, Berkeley)

Citation: For pioneering work on emergent behavior in ferroic thin films

The 2019 IEEE-UFFC Awardees. From left to right: Geoff Brennecka (Awards Chair for Ferroelectrics), Zuo-Guang Ye, Lane Martin, Roger Whatmore, Jacob L. Jones (VP of Ferroelectrics, IEEE-UFFC).

Frequency Control:

Two IFCS awards—I. I. Rabi Award and W. G. Cady Award  were presented at the beginning of the 2019 joint EFTF (European Frequency and Time Forum) & IFCS (IEEE International Frequency Control Symposium) meeting in Orlando, Florida.


I. I. Rabi Award



Steven Jefferts

Citation: For exceptional leadership in the design, development, and operation of cold-atom microwave atomic clocks.


Dr. Steven Jefferts, 2019 I. I. Rabi Award

W. G. Cady Award


Serge Galliou

Citation: For pioneering the development of extremely high-Q cryogenic Bulk Acoustic Resonators for sensing, oscillators, and fundamental applications

Dr. Serge Galliou, 2019 W. G. Cady Award


Current Distinguished Lecturers :

Distinguished Lecturers are chosen to serve an 18-month period. They are selected not only because of personal stature and contribution to a field, but also because of broad knowledge of the field. Each lecturer presents between 20 and 40 lectures all over the world. Groups desiring to invite a lecturer can find details on the UFFC website.

Dr. Pai-Chi Li, Ultrasonics

Department of Electrical Engineering
National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan

January 1, 2019 through June 30, 2020
“Preclinical research with light and sound: shear wave imaging and photoacoustic imaging of 3D cell culture systems”

Pai-Chi Li, National Taiwan University

Clive Randall, Ferroelectrics

Dept. of Materials Science and Engineering
Materials Research Institute

July 1, 2019 through December 31, 2020
“A Discussion of Defects, Crystal Chemistry, Thermochemistry, Non-equilibrium Processing and the Impact on Properties of Ferroelectric Materials”

Prof. Clive Randall, Distinguished Lecturer IEEE UFFC from July 1, 2019 until December 31, 2020

Gaetano Mileti, Frequency Control

Deputy director and Associate Professor.
University of Neuchâtel, Neuchâtel, Switzerland

January 2020 to June 2021
“Vapour cell atomic clocks and the measurement of time”

Dr. Gaetano Mileti Deputy director and Associate Professor. University of Neuchâtel, Neuchâtel, Switzerland

Matthew O’Donnell, Ultrasonics

Department of Bioengineering
University of Washington

July 1, 2020 to December 31, 2021
“Light and Sound: Integrating Photonics with Ultrasonics””

Matthew O’Donnell, Department of Bioengineering University of Washington

Last updated On: May 11, 2020