New ‘Nanoacoustic Devices, Processes and Materials’ Technical Committee

March 16, 2017 | Contributed By - Xiaoning Jiang, UFFC-S Rep. the IEEE Nanotechnology Council

The IEEE Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, & Frequency Control Society (UFFC) is one of 22 member societies in the IEEE Nanotechnology Council (NTC), a multi-disciplinary group working to promote theory, design, development and applications of nanotechnology.

NTC technical activities are mainly organized and promoted by Technical Committees formed by NTC member societies. Until recently, the UFFC was one of the few member societies that did not have a technical committee in the NTC. The UFFC-S President appointed two members to represent the UFFC-S in the NTC: Xiaoning Jiang (Dept. of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, UNC & NCSU Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC, USA)  and James Spicer (Dept. of Materials Science and Engineering, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, USA). The NTC Excom has now approved a proposal to form its 14th technical committee  focused  on nanoacoustic devices, processes and materials.  The appointed technical committe chair and co-chair for 2016-2017 are UFFC-S members, Xiaoning Jiang and James Spicer, respectively.

The initiation of this UFFC-associated NTC technical committee is motivated by the explosion of research involving acoustics-associated nanomaterials, nanostructures, nanofabrication and devices for a broad range of applications over the past 10 years .  The UFFC-S includes a large group of scientists, engineers and students with state-of-the-art research in nano-acoustics that can be more widely shared and enhanced through actions coordinated by the Nanoacoustic Devices, Processes and Materials technical committee to promote research, development and education in the following areas:

  • Acoustic devices including ferroelectric, frequency control and ultrasonic devices, such as mobile and/or autonomous devices (e.g. microphone, acoustic touch sensing, nano-resonator, etc.), biomedical imaging devices (ultrasound imaging), biomedical therapy devices (ultrasound therapy, acoustic drug delivery), implantable and embedded devices (acoustic sensors and transducers), wearable and surface mountable devices (acoustic sensors), which involve interactions between acoustics waves and nano-materials/structures.
  • Advanced acoustic sensing and measurement approaches that permit unprecedented understanding of phenomena exhibited by nanoscale materials and structures.
  • Development of new ferroelectric materials for application to nanoscale acoustic devices and processes. Examples include piezoelectric nano-materials, piezoelectric nano-structures, photoacoustic nanomaterials and nanostructures.

Founding members of this TC include:

  • Seyi Balogun, Northwestern University
  • Gang Chen, MIT
  • Paul Dayton, University of North Carolina (Chapel Hill)
  • Christ Glorieux, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
  • Zhen Gu, University of North Carolina (Chapel Hill)
  • Tony Jun Huang, Duke University
  • Susan Trolier-McKinstry, Pennsylvania State University

Interested UFFC-S colleagues are encouraged to contact Drs. and to become actively involved in this new TC to promote UFFC-S nano-acoustic activities related to ferroelectrics, frequency control and ultrasonics.

Last updated On: April 11, 2017