Distinguished Lecturers for IEEE UFFC

March 11, 2019 | Contributed By - Bernhard R. Tittmann, Vice Chair of Awards

Distinguished Lecturers are selected, not only based on personal stature and contributions to a field, but also based on broad knowledge of their domain. Nominations are received from the Ferroelectrics, Frequency Control and Ultrasonics Standing Committees

It is a great honor but also a significant responsibility to be a Distinguished Lecturer for IEEE UFCC-S. Each Distinguished Lecturer has a term of 18 months during which they schedule at least 18 presentations around the world. The Distinguished Lecturer is also asked to spearhead a special issue in the IEEE UFFC Transactions and contribute at least one article to that special issue.

Current Distinguished Lecturers are:

Distinguished Lecturer for Ferroelectrics:

Kenji Uchino, Penn State

January 2018 to June 2019

The Glory of Piezoelectric Perovskites

Distinguished Lecturer for Frequency Control:

Ekkehard Peik, P-T Bundesanstalt, Braunschweig, Germany

June 2018 to December 2019

Optical atomic clocks with single trapped ions

Distinguished Lecturer for Ultrasonics:

Pai-Chi Li, National Taiwan University

January 2019 to June 2020

Preclinical research with light and sound: shear wave imaging and photoacoustic imaging of 3D cell culture systems

A new Distinguished Lecturer will be named soon for Ferroelectrics.

Groups who would like to benefit from a lecture by one of the Distinguished Lecturers will find their contact information on the web pages so that they can contact the speaker directly with their request. Highest priority is given to lectures for UFFC Chapters, other IEEE activities and student seminars. Reports from the Distinguished Lecturer documenting interactions over the term are available to all on the IEEE UFFC website.