2020 IEEE UFFC Society Ferroelectrics Awards

July 23, 2020 | Contributed By - Marco Deluca, Ferroelectrics Newsletter Editor

On Wednesday, July 22nd, 2020, the IEEE UFFC Society Ferroelectrics Awards were presented by the Chair of the Awards Committee of IEEE-UFFC, Prof. Roger Whatmore of Imperial College London, UK.

IEEE Fellows in 2020

First of all, Prof. Whatmore congratulated three members of our community that were promoted to IEEE Fellows in 2020: Jacob L. Jones (North Carolina State University, USA), Andy Bell (University of Leeds, UK) and Kurt Gibble (Pennsylvania State University, USA).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

IEEE UFFC-S Ferroelectrics Awards

Next, the IEEE UFFC Society Ferroelectrics Awards were announced. The recipients are individuals who made outstanding contributions in research to our community. Fei Li from Xi’an Jiaotong University got the Ferroelectrics Young Investigator Award for “his outstanding contributions to the fundamental understanding of relaxor ferroelectric-lead titanate single crystals and ceramics”. The Ferroelectrics Recognition Award went to Jiri Hlinka (Czech Academy of Sciences) for “his outstanding contributions to fundamental theoretical and experimental studies of ferroelectrics, relaxor ferroelectrics and multiferroics”. Finally, the prestigious Robert E. Newnham Ferroelectrics Award was given to Beatriz Noheda (Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials, the Netherlands) for “her outstanding contributions to the understanding of the giant piezoelectricity in lead zirconate titanate and ferroelectric relaxors, based on her discovery of their low symmetry phases”.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.