Award Descriptions and Nomination Procedures

IEEE International Frequency Control Symposium

Three IEEE awards are presented annually at the IEEE International Frequency Control Symposium: the Cady Award, the Rabi Award, and the Sawyer Award. Questions regarding IEEE UFFC-S awards should be addressed to the IEEE IFCS Awards Chair, Awards Chair – James Camparo, .

Scope of Awards

The W. G. Cady Award

The W. G. Cady Award is to recognize outstanding contributions related to the fields of piezoelectric or other classical frequency control, selection and measurement; and resonant sensor devices.

The I. I. Rabi Award

The I. I. Rabi Award is to recognize outstanding contributions related to the fields of atomic and molecular frequency standards, and time transfer and dissemination.

The C. B. Sawyer Memorial Award

The C. B. Sawyer Memorial Award is to recognize entrepreneurship or leadership in the frequency control community; or outstanding contributions in the development, production or characterization of resonator materials or structures.

The Awards and Their Presentations

Each award consists of $1000 and a suitable memento and certificate. The awards are presented to the recipients at an appropriate ceremony at the Symposium, usually in the plenary session. The mementos are: a laminated certificate and a quartz crystal ball on a wood base for the Cady Award; an original print and laminated certificate for the Rabi Award; and an appropriately engraved quartz crystal for the C. B. Sawyer Memorial Award.

Eligibility Criteria

Any of the three awards is open to any worker in any of the fields traditionally associated with the Frequency Control Symposium. The nominee should be responsible for significant contributions to the field selected. The awards shall be given to one or more specific individuals rather than to laboratories or groups. No posthumous awards will be made. The time span over which the contributions have occurred is not limited. The significance of the contributions may be measured, in part, by: the degree of initiative, ingenuity, and creativity displayed; the quality of the work and degree of success attained; and the overall importance of the work and its impact on frequency control and associated communities.

Nominating Procedure

An Awards Chair to oversee the nominating process is appointed by the Vice President for Frequency Control. The Awards Chairman has the responsibility to solicit nominations and to make every effort to assure a high quality slate of nominees. Nominations are welcome from anyone and should be submitted to the Awards Chairman (see the current Call-For-Papers for contact information). “All nominations should be submitted through e-mail to the Awards Chair. Please do not send nominations by postal mail.”

Each written nomination must include the following:

  • Name of the nominee
  • Current address (regular or e-mail) of the nominee
  • Name of the award for which nominated
  • Description of accomplishments (for example initiative, ingenuity, creativity, quality and degree of success, etc.) and their importance to the frequency control community
  • Proposed citation (see examples on the first pages of any Proceedings since 1983)

A Nominations Template will be provided each year by the Frequency Control Symposium website to promote uniformity for nomination submissions. The nomination should not exceed two pages in length as prescribed by the template. Individual letters of support and documentation such as publication lists, and institutional accolades can be sent separately to the attention of the Awards Chair, and be clearly identified so that the relation to the respective nominee is unambiguous. All supporting documentation will be made available to the Frequency Control Symposium Technical Program Committee.

Selection of Recipients

The selection of the recipient for each award will be made by the Frequency Control Symposium Technical Program Committee during its paper selection meeting. The decision of the committee is final. If, in the opinion of the committee, no suitable nominee exists, no award will be given.

History of the Awards

From 1966 to 1982, only one award, the C.B. Sawyer Memorial Award, was presented at the Symposium. According to the Sawyer Award announcement that was in effect until 1991, the Award was “to consist of $500.00 and a plaque, shall be made on an annual basis to the person, or the group of persons, who, in the opinion of an independent three-man judging committee, has made the most outstanding recent contribution to advancement in the field of quartz crystals and devices…. Presentations will be made at the IEEE Frequency Control Symposium.”

Aside from permitting the presentation of the Sawyer Award at the Symposium Banquet, the Symposium’s management had no involvement with the Sawyer Award prior to 1991. The Award was sponsored by Sawyer Research Products, Inc. (SRP); the judging committee was selected by that company. The first Sawyer Award was presented in 1966. It has been presented each year since then, except in 1982 and 1989, when no suitable award nominations were received.

In the early 1980’s, sentiment was expressed at Symposium program committee meetings for the creation of awards to recognize outstanding contributions in all fields covered by the Symposium, not just in the field of quartz crystals and devices. Therefore, in early 1983, the program committee voted to create two Symposium awards. One, the Cady Award, named after Walter Guyton Cady, was to recognize outstanding contributions related to piezoelectric frequency control devices. The other, the Rabi Award, named after Prof. I.I. Rabi, was to recognize outstanding contributions related to fields such as atomic and molecular frequency standards, and time transfer and dissemination.

On 30 October 1991 the C. B. Sawyer Memorial Award became the third Symposium award when an agreement was signed by SRP and the UFFC-S. The agreement assigns responsibility for the C.B. Sawyer Memorial Award to the UFFC-S and the scope was broadened. Sawyer Award winners will be selected the same way as the other two award winners, as is described above. The selection process is to be independent of SRP. SRP will continue to provide an honorarium of $1000 per award.

In addition to the three awards described above, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers UFFC-Society also occasionally, presents lifetime Achievement Awards. First Achievement Award was presented in 1980.

The Achievement Awards are in recognition of life-long contributions to the Society which have deeply impacted progress in its fields of interest (Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics, and Frequency Control). A winner of the Achievement Award can also be selected for his/her service to the Society. The only such Achievement award presented at the Frequency Control Symposium to date was the 1995 award:

to Arthur W. Warner, Jr.
“For his nearly 60 years of pioneering and wide-ranging contributions to the design and fabrication of high-stability quartz resonators.”