IEEE Robert E. Newnham Ferroelectrics Award

Description: The IEEE Robert E. Newnham award is intended for investigators in the field of dielectric, piezoelectric and ferroic materials that have contributed significantly to the understanding of structure-property relations. The award is given at any stage of the career for an outstanding contribution or for overall contribution to the field during the career, resulting in measurable impact. The award is named in honor of Robert E. Newnham to recognize his leading role in understanding the relationships between structure and properties of materials and to honor him as a scientist, teacher and an advisor to numerous researchers and engineers. The award comes with a plaque, certificate, and a $2,000 USD honorarium. This award will be presented annually at the IEEE International Symposium on Application of Ferroelectrics meeting.

Nominators should submit a statement of nomination which includes justification for the nomination in context of contributions to the field, as well as a nominee’s curriculum vitae or biographical sketch. It would be helpful for the statement or vitae to highlight the most important refereed published papers, patents, and impactful presentations at ferroelectrics

Please contact Dr. Geoff Brennecka (  for further information and suggestions for candidates.


Dragan Damjanovic – EPFL, Switzerland

For his seminal contributions to the understanding of domains and structure-property relationships in ferroic materials

Ahmad Safari – Rutgers University

For sustained and impactful contributions in structure-property relationships of ferroelectric and piezoelectric ceramics, composites, and films

Prof. Susan Trolier-McKinstry – Pennsylvania State University

For her fundamental contributions and scientific leadership in structure-property relations of piezoelectric and ferroelectric materials, resulting in tremendous impact in the discipline