Ferroelectrics Young Investigator Award

The UFFC Ferroelectrics Young Investigator Award is an established award to recognize the achievements of University, Industrial, or Laboratory researchers in the area of ferroelectric materials and applications. The award is specific to those researchers in the early stages of their career.

Award Details: The UFFC Ferroelectrics Young Investigator Award recognizes scientists/engineers for their contributions to fundamental research, integration, application, or education. The award is given on annual basis and presented at the ISAF meeting. The award carries an honorarium of $2,000 and the awardee(s) would be expected to attend that meeting. An age limit of 40 years at the time of nomination is recommended.

Please contact Dr. Geoff Brennecka (geoff.brennecka@mines.edu)  for further information and suggestions for candidates.


Tadej Rojac – Institute Jozef Stefan, Slovenia

For his pioneering work on processing of chemically complex ferroelectric ceramics

Kyle Webber – Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU)

For contributions to the understanding of mechanical, fracture and ferroelastic properties of ferroelectric ceramics

Dr. Jon F. Ihlefeld – Sandia National Laboratories

For significantly advancing the processing and integration science of thin film ferroelectrics for practical applications

Ronald G. Polcawich – U.S. Army Research Laboratory

For his oustanding contributions in developments of thin films and integration in micromechanical systems and devices

Nagarajan Valanoor – University of New South Wales

For his outstanding contributions in experiments and theory of nanoscale electromechanical phenomena in ferroelectric thin films and interfaces.

Geoff Brennecka – Sandia National Laboratories

For his pioneering efforts in the development of nano-scale material concepts that have led to next generation ferroelectric thin film materials and devices.

Nazanin Bassiri-Gharb

For her contributions in the field of piezoelectric films, as well as service to the IEEE UFFC society.

Hajime Nagata – Tokyo University of Science, Japan

For his contribution in development of lead-free piezoelectric ceramics, structural-property.

Shujun Zhang, Materials Research Laboratory, Materials Research Institute, The Pennsylvania State University, Pennsylvania, USA

For his contributions to piezoelectric crystals, focusing on the relationship between structure, properties, and device performance.

Jacob Jones – Department of Materials Science and Engineering, University of Florida, USA

For his outstanding contributions to the field of ferroelectrics using advanced in situ diffraction tools.

Sergei Kalinin – Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA

For the development of scanning probe techniques and seminal contributions in understanding and controlling polarization switching in ferroeletric materials by piezoresponse force microscopy/spectroscopy on the nm scale, and deciphering switching mechanisms on a single defect level.

Yuji Noguchi – The University of Tokyo, Japan.

For his significant contributions to the growth, characterization, and defect engineering in lead-free ferroelectric/piezoelectric single crystals.

Jon-Paul Maria – North Carolina State University (USA)

For his contributions to the fundamental science that underpins the synthesis of ferroelectric thin films and for his research highlighting the relationship between processing, structure, and properties in thin film devices.

Paul Clem – Sandia National Laboratory (USA)

For his significant contributions to the integration of ferroelectric materials with non-precious metals and his substantial efforts in support of technical society meetings.

Stephen Streiffer – Argonne National Laboratory (USA)

For his significant contributions to the understanding of the structure and physical properties of ferroelectric thin films at the nanoscale.