Ferroelectrics Recognition Award

The Ferroelectrics Recognition Award recognizes meritorious achievement in the field of Ferroelectricity or related sciences. The award recipient receives $2,000 and a plaque. The recipient must be an IEEE UFFC member upon conferring of the award. The award is presented at the International Symposium on the Applications of Ferroelectrics (ISAF) and may be presented at other IEEE sponsored Ferroelectrics-related Symposia in those years ISAF is not held.

The award recipient is chosen based on publications in technical journals and/or other contributions to the field of Ferroelectricity.

Guidance for nominators: Nominators should submit a statement of nomination which includes justification for the nomination in context of contributions to the field and the award criteria, as well as a nominee’s curriculum vitae or biographical sketch. It would be helpful for the statement or vitae to highlight the most important refereed published papers, patents, and impactful presentations at ferroelectrics meetings.

Please contact Prof. Roger Whatmore (r.whatmore@imperial.ac.uk) for further information and suggestions for candidates.


Roger Whatmore – Imperial College

For his varied and enduring translations of fundamental materials phenomena into practical use

Satoshi Wada – University of Yamanashi, Japan

For his enduring work on multi-scale engineering of high permittivity and/or high strain materials

Alexei Gruverman – University of Nebraska – Lincoln (UNL)

For fundamental and applied studies of nanoscale physical phenomena using scanning probe microscopy

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Rödel – Technical University of Darmstadt

For his significant contributions to the research and development of lead-free piezoelectric ceramics and promotion of international collaboration

Andrei Kholkin – University of Aveiro

For his substantial contributions to an understanding of ferroelectrics at the nano scale

Zuo-Guang Ye – Simon Fraser University

For his substantial contributions to the developments of relaxor-based piezocrystals and PZT single crystals, his seminal work on the understanding of relaxor ferroelectric properties

Clive Randall – Pennsylvania State University

For long-lasting contributions to the science and engineering of dielectrics

Kenji Uchino

For his contributions in electrostrictive ceramics, multilayer piezoelectric actuators, high electromechanical relaxor single crystals, magnetoelectric devices, and piezoelectric loss characterization methodology.

Andrew Bell – University of Leeds

For his contribution in the pyroelectric materials and devices, microwave dielectrics and phenomenological modeling applied to Barium Titanate, Relaxors, Piezoelectric Single Crystals and PZT.

Takaaki Tsurumi – Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo, Japan

For his work on structure and property of dielectric and ferroelectric oxides leading to improved performance and devices and for his outstanding service to the international ferroelectric community.

Bruce Tuttle – Sandia National Laboratoires, Albuquerque, NM, USA

For his work on structure and property of dielectric and ferroelectric oxides leading to improved performance and devices and for his outstanding service to the international ferroelectric community.

Marija Kosec – Jozef Stean Institute, Slovenia

For her significant contributions to the processing science and technology of ferroelectric powders, bulk ceramics, thin and thick films

Dragan Damjanovic – EPFL, Switzerland

For his significant contributions to the understanding of relations between crystal instabilities, anisotropy and enhancement of electromechanical properties in piezoelectric ceramics and crystals.

Susan Trolier-McKinstry – The Pennsylvania State University (USA)

For her significant contributions to dielectric and piezoelectric thin films, electronic ceramics, and her pioneering research in understanding the role of domain mobility and stress effects in ferroelectrics.

Tadashi Takenaka – Tokyo University of Science (Japan)

For his significant contributions in Lead-free piezoelectrics and his personal support of the international ferroelectrics community.

Thomas Shrout – The Pennsylvania State University (USA)

For his lasting contributions to the national and international materials community in processing and property engineering of electroceramics.

David Payne – University of Illinois (USA)

For significant contributions to the field of ferroelectric thin layers, sol-gel processing and science.

Nava Setter – EPFL Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (Switzerland)

For significant contributions to the fundamental understanding and the application of ferroelectric ceramics.

Seung-Eek (Eagle) Park – Pennsylvania State University and Fraunhofer Technology Center (USA)

For excellence in the growth and characterization of piezoelectric single crystals.

Yukio Sakabe – Murata Manufacturing Co. Ltd. (Japan)

For outstanding research and development of ceramic dielectrics for use with base metals and for technological innovation in multilayer ceramic capacitors.

Yao Xi – Tonji University and Xian Jiaotong University (China)

For technical innovation in the ferroelectric field, educational leadership in electronic ceramics in China, and outstanding service to the ferroelectric community both domestically and internationally.

Rainer Waser – RWTH Aachen and FZ Jülich (Germany)

For his work on defect chemistry in perovskites leading to improved performance and devices and for his leadership within the international ferroelectric community.

Ahmad Safari – Rutgers University (USA)

For technical accomplishments in the field of ferroelectric materials and piezoelectric composites and for his leadership within the society which has resulted in an increasingly international and integrated ferroelectric community.

Wallace Smith – Office of Naval Research (USA)

For major contributions to the understanding of piezoelectric ceramic/polymer composites and effective continuing advocacy of ferroelectric programs.

Kiyoshi Okazaki – Shonan Institute of Technology (Japan)

Jan Fousek – Technical University of Liberec (Czech Republic)

For outstanding contributions to the understanding of Domain Phenomena in Ferroelectric Crystals.

Cecil Land – Sandia National Laboratories (USA)

For creative and innovative research on ferroelectric and eletro-optic phenomena in ceramic materials and devices.

Issai “Lef” Lewkovitz – AROD University of North Carolina (USA)

Eric Cross – The Pennsylvania State University (USA)

For his outstanding contributions to the scientific understanding and technological application of ferroelectric materials.