Associate Editors

* denotes Associate Editor in Chief

Keith A. Wear *

Address: Bldg. WO-62, Room 2104, Food and Drug Administration, Silver Spring, MD 20993

Email: keith.wear@fda.hhs.gov
Phone: (301)796-2538

Keywords: hydrophone, exposimetry, therapeutic ultrasound, bone

Read Bio
Alessandro Stuart Savoia

Address: Roma Tre University. Department of Engineering. Via Vito Volterra 62, 00146
Roma, Italy

Email: alessandro.savoia@uniroma3.it
Phone: +39 328 9027632

Keywords: Micromachined Ultrasonic Transducers, CMUTs, PMUTs, Transducer Arrays, Medical Imaging

Read Bio
Alfred C. H. Yu *

Address: EIT 4125, 200 University Avenue West, Waterloo, ON, Canada N2L 3G1

Email: alfred.yu@uwaterloo.ca
Phone: (519) 888-4567 ext. 36908

Keywords: Beamforming, Blood flow measurement, Systems and devices, Contrast agents, Therapeutics

Read Bio
Andrei L. Kholkin

Address: CICECO-Aveiro Institute of Materials, Complexo de Laboratórios Tecnológicos, Campus Universitário de Santiago, 3810-193 Aveiro, Portugal

Email: kholkin@ua.pt
Phone: +351-234-247025

Keywords: Scanning Probe Microscopy, piezoelectrics, ferroelectrics, multiferroics, graphene

Read Bio
Ashwin A. Seshia

Address: Nanoscience Centre, Cambridge University Engineering Department, 11 JJ, Thomson Avenue, Cambridge CB3 0FF, UK

Email: aas41@cam.ac.uk
Phone: +44-1223-760333

Keywords: Microelectromechanical systems, sensor systems, resonators, oscillators, acoustic wave devices.

Read Bio
Ayache Bouakaz

Address: UFR Médecine Inserm U930, 10 Bld Tonnellé, 37032 Tours, France

Email: ayache.bouakaz@univ-tours.fr
Phone: +33 2 47366142

Keywords: Ultrasound, imaging, therapy, contrast agent, drug delivery

Read Bio
Chris L.de Korte

Address: Medical UltraSound Imaging Center (MUSIC 766), Radboud University Medical Center, PO Box 9101, 6500HB, Nijmegen, The Netherlands

Email: chris.dekorte@radboudumc.nl
Phone: +31 24 3617694

Keywords: elastography, quantitative Ultrasound, flow estimation, Vascular imaging, Breast imaging.

Read Bio
Damien Garcia

Address: CREATIS, INSA Lyon, 7 avenue Jean Capelle, 69621 Villeurbanne Cedex, FRANCE

Email: damien.garcia@creatis.insa-lyon.fr
Phone: +33 (0)4 72 43 82 49

Keywords: echocardiography, hemodynamics, cardiac function, numerical methods, clinical investigation

Read Bio
Denis KOUAME

Address: University of Toulouse III, 118, route de Narbonne, F-31062, Toulouse, France

Email: dkouame@ieee.org
Phone: +33 5 61 556 310

Keywords: signal and image processing, medical ultrasound imaging, inverse problems, sparse techniques

Read Bio
Dr Helen Mulvana

Address: School of Engineering, University of Glasgow, University Avenue, Glasgow, G12 8QQ

Email: helen.mulvana@glasgow.ac.uk
Phone: +441413305044

Keywords: Microbubble contrast agents, drug delivery, microbubbles, elastography

Read Bio
Dr. Hiroshi Kanai, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan

Address: Aramaki-aza-Aoba 6-6-05, Sendai 980-8577, Japan

Email: hiroshi.kanai.e7@tohoku.ac.jp
Phone: +81-22-795-7080

Keywords: Cardiac measurement, Atherosclerosis diagnosis

Read Bio
Dragan Damjanovic

Address: EPFL SCI STI DD, MXD 236, Station 12, CH-1015 Lausanne, Switzerland

Email: dragan.damjanovic@epfl.ch
Phone: +41 21 693 2989

Keywords: piezoelectric, ferroelectric, dielectric, sensors, actuators

Read Bio
Einar Halvorsen

Address: Department of Microsystems, University College of Southeast Norway, Campus Vestfold, Raveien 215, 3184 Borre, Norway

Email: Einar.Halvorsen@usn.no
Phone: +47-97199357

Keywords: microelectromechanical systems, energy harvesting, actuators, piezoelectrics, electrostatic transducers

Read Bio
Elizabeth A. Donley

Address: NIST Time & Frequency Division, 325 Broadway, Boulder, CO, 80305

Email: elizabeth.donley@nist.gov
Phone: (303) 497-5173

Keywords: Microwave and Optical Atomic Clocks, Lasers and Optics, Atomic Spectroscopy, Atom Cooling and Trapping, Quantum Sensing

Read Bio
Farid G. Mitri

Address: 5 Bisbee Court, Suite 112, Santa Fe, NM 87508, United States

Email: f.g.mitri@ieee.org
Phone: (505) 501 7950

Keywords: Physical acoustics, Biomedical ultrasound, Ultrasonic imaging, Acoustic metamaterials, Oilfield R&D

Read Bio
Francesco Simonetti

Address: Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH 45221-0070

Email: f.simonetti@uc.edu
Phone: (513) 556-3532

Keywords: NDE, SHM, Ultrasonics, Imaging, Arrays

Read Bio
Giorgio Santarelli *

Address: 1, Rue F. Mitterand 33400 Talence France

Email: giorgio.santarelli@institutoptique.fr
Phone: +33557017250

Keywords: time&frequency metrology, lasers, low noise

Read Bio
Guy Cloutier *

Address: Laboratory of Biorheology and Medical Ultrasonics, University of Montreal Hospital Research Center, 900 St-Denis, Montréal, Québec, Canada, H2X 0A9

Email: guy.cloutier@umontreal.ca
Phone: 514-890-8000 (24703)

Keywords: Quantitative ultrasound imaging; ultrasound tissue characterization; ultrasound elastography, shear wave viscoelasticity imaging, biomechanics

Read Bio
Hairong Zheng

Address: 1068 Xueyuan Ave, Nanshan District, Shenzhen, China

Email: hr.zheng@siat.ac.cn
Phone: 86-15816895264

Keywords: Ultrasound elastography, acoustic manipulation, ultrasonic neuromodulation, signal and imaging processing, microbubbles

Read Bio
Hassan Rivaz

Address: 1455 Maisonneuve West, EV5.235, Montreal, H3G 1M8, Canada

Email: hrivaz@ece.concordia.ca
Phone: 514-291-1077 ext 8741

Keywords: Elastography, Quantitative Ultrasound, Machine Learning in Ultrasound, Vascular Imaging

Read Bio
Hervé Liebgott

Address: INSA - Bâtiment Blaise Pascal, 7, avenue Jean Capelle, 69621 Villeurbanne Cedex FRANCE

Email: liebgott@creatis.insa-lyon.fr
Phone: +33 4 72 43 64 63

Keywords: ultrasound - beamforming - motion estimation - cardiovascular - 3D

Read Bio
James C. Lacefield, Ph.D., P.Eng.

Address: Western University, Dept. of Electrical & Computer Engineering, 1151 Richmond St. N, London, ON N6A 3K7, Canada

Email: jlacefield@robarts.ca
Phone: 519-661-2111 ext. 84303

Keywords: High-frequency ultrasound, beamformation, signal processing, microvascular imaging, cancer imaging.

Read Bio
Jan D’hooge

Address: Lab on Cardiovascular Imaging & Dynamics – Dept. of Cardiovascular Sciences, Medical Imaging Research Centre – University Hospital Gasthuisberg, Herestraat 49, 3000 Leuven

Email: jan.dhooge@uzleuven.be
Phone: +32.16.34.90.12

Keywords: Cardiac ultrasound imaging, strain imaging, high frame rate imaging, automated ultrasound image analysis, cardiac pathophysiology

Read Bio
Jeffrey A. Ketterling, Ph.D.

Address: Riverside Research, New York, NY 10006

Email: jkettermeister@gmail.com
Phone: 917 225-0691

Keywords: transducers, high-frequency ultrasound, contrast agents, small-animal imaging, plane-wave imaging

Read Bio
Jessica Liu Strohmann *

Address: 3165 Kifer Road, Santa Clara, California, 95051

Email: jessica.strohmann@gmail.com
Phone: 1-303-518-4173

Keywords: Sensors System and Industrial Applications; Transducers and Transducer Materials; Micromachined Ultrasound Transducer

Read Bio
Jiashi Yang

Address: P. O. Box 880526, Lincoln, NE 68588-0526

Email: jyang1@unl.edu
Phone: (402) 472-0712

Keywords: Piezoelectricity, wave, vibration, film, fiber

Read Bio
Jin Ho Chang

Address: 35 Baekbeom-ro, Mapo-gu, Sogang University, CY-412, Seoul, 04107, South Korea

Email: jhchang@sogang.ac.kr
Phone: +82-2-705-4744

Keywords: Photoacoustic imaging and its clinical applications, High-frequency ultrasound imaging, Therapeutic ultrasound, Ultrasound transducers, Beamformation

Read Bio
John Vig

Address: 33 Bucks Mill Rd., Colts Neck, NJ 07722, USA

Email: j.vig@ieee.org
Phone: 1 732 462 5715

Keywords: Resonator, oscillator, quartz, stability, sensor

Read Bio
Jonathan Mamou

Address: F. L. Lizzi Center for Biomedical Engineering, Riverside Research, New York, NY 10025

Email: JMamou@riversideresearch.org
Phone: 917 225-0824

Keywords: Quantitative ultrasound, Ultrasonic tissue characterization, high-frequency ultrasound, scanning acoustic microscopy, signal/image processing

Read Bio
L. Scott Smith

Address: GE Global Research, One Research Circle KW-C1300, Niskayuna, NY 12309

Email: scottuffc@gmail.com
Phone: 518 387 5996

Keywords: ultrasound phased arrays, transducer design, piezoelectrics, CMUTs, additive manufacturing

Read Bio
Marvin M. Doyley, PhD

Address: University of Rochester, Hopeman Building 333, Box 270126, Rochester, NY 14627-0126

Email: m.doyley@rochester.edu
Phone: +1-585-275-3774

Keywords: elastography; contrast agents; small animal imaging; atherosclerosis; pancreatic cancer

Read Bio
Massimo Mischi

Address: Eindhoven University of Technology, room Flux 7.074, De Zaale, 5612AJ Eindhoven, the Netherlands

Email: M.Mischi@tue.nl
Phone: +31(0)613269039

Keywords: Quantitative Ultrasound, Contrast Agents, Image Analysis, Modeling, Signal Processing

Read Bio
Matteo Rinaldi

Address: 360 Huntington Ave., Boston, Massachusetts 02115, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering – Northeastern University

Email: rinaldi@northeastern.edu
Phone: +1-215-696-0038

Keywords:

Read Bio
Matthew W. Urban

Address: Department of Radiology, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN 55905

Email: urban.matthew@mayo.edu
Phone: 1-507-538-1522

Keywords: shear waves, acoustic radiation force, elasticity, viscoelasticity, kidney, artery

Read Bio
Mengxing Tang

Address: Department of Bioengineering, Imperial College, London, SW7 2AZ, U.K.

Email: mengxing.tang@ic.ac.uk
Phone: 0044 207 5943664

Keywords: Ultrafast Imaging, Microbubbles, Super-resolution, Signal Processing, Flow and Perfusion

Read Bio
Michael C. Kolios

Address: Ryerson University, Victoria Building VIC-740, 285 Victoria Street, Toronto, ON, M5B 2K3

Email: mkolios@ryerson.ca
Phone: 416-979-5000 x 3157

Keywords: Ultrasound imaging, Ultrasound Therapy, Photoacoustic Imaging, Theranostics. Hyperthermia

Read Bio
Michael L Oelze *

Address: Beckman Institute, 405 N Mathews, Urbana, IL 61801

Email: oelze@illinois.edu
Phone: 217-333-9226

Keywords: Ultrasonic imaging and therapeutics

Read Bio
Michael M. Driscoll

Address: 41 Apple Jack Lane, Littlestown, PA 17340

Email: mdriscoll8@comcast.net
Phone: 410-371-2577

Keywords: Signal Sources, Oscillators, Phase Noise, Vibration, Filters

Read Bio
Muyinatu A. Lediju Bell *

Address: Johns Hopkins University, 3400 N. Charles St., Baltimore, MD 21218

Email: mledijubell@jhu.edu
Phone: 410-516-7854

Keywords: coherence-based beamforming, photoacoustic imaging, photoacoustic-guided surgery, image-guided robots, deep learning

Read Bio
Nico de Jong

Address: Lorentzweg 1 - 2628 CJ Delft

Email: n.dejong@erasmusmc.nl
Phone: +31 6 45470122

Keywords: Cardiac, Medical imaging, Ultrasound, Transusers

Read Bio
Osama M. Mukdadi

Address: 395 Evansdale Drive, Engineering Science Building Rm 927, Morgantown, WV 26506-6106.

Email: sam.mukdadi@mail.wvu.edu
Phone: (304) 293-3110

Keywords: Ultrasonic Non-destructive Testing, Biomedical Ultrasound Imaging, Tissue Characterization, Ultrasonic Guided Waves; Elastic Wave Propagation,

Read Bio
Pai-Chi Li

Address: Department of Electrical Engineering, National Taiwan University, No.1, Sec.4, Roosevelt Road, Taipei, Taiwan 106

Email: paichi@ntu.edu.tw
Phone: +886233663551

Keywords: Biomedical ultrasound, photoacoustics, medical device

Read Bio
Pascal Laugier

Address: Sorbonne université -Laboratoire d'imagerie biomédicale - 15 rue de l'école de médecine - 75006 Paris France

Email: pascal.laugier@upmc.fr
Phone: +33144414961

Keywords: Ultrasound imaging - Quantitative ultrasound - Bone - Cartilage - Scanning acoutic microscopy

Read Bio
Pascale Defraigne

Address: Royal Observatory of Belgium, Avenue Circulaire, 3, B-1180 Brussels, Belgium

Email: p.defraigne@oma.be
Phone: +32 2 373 02 60

Keywords: GNSS, time transfer, time scales

Read Bio
Paul Reynolds

Address: 1908 Camas Avenue NE, Renton, WA, 98056

Email: p.reynolds@ieee.org
Phone: 650 776 3582

Keywords: transducers, modelling, MEMS, HIFU, imaging

Read Bio
Peter R. Hoskins

Address: University of Edinburgh, Queens Medical Research Institute, 47 Little France Crescent, Edinburgh, UK EH16 4TJ

Email: P.Hoskins@ed.ac.uk
Phone: +44 131 242 6740

Keywords: Doppler ultrasound, blood flow, blood velocity, Phantoms, Biomechanics

Read Bio
Piero Tortoli

Address: via Santa Marta 3, 50139 Firenze - Italy

Email: piero.tortoli@unifi.it
Phone: 0039 3296509173

Keywords: Doppler ultrasound, ultrasound imaging, ultrasound research platforms, real-time ultrasound systems

Read Bio
Prof. Daniel Razansky, Technical University and Helmholtz Center Munich

Address: Ingolstaedter Landstr. 1, 85764 Neuherberg, Germany

Email: dr@tum.de
Phone: +49-89-3187-1587

Keywords: Medical Imaging, Optoacoustics, Ultrasound, Molecular Imaging, Functional Neuroimaging

Read Bio
Prof. Dr. Michiel Postema

Address: Chamber of Mines Building, University of the Witwatersrand, 1 Jan Smuts Avenue, Braamfontein, Johannesburg, 2050, South Africa

Email: michiel.postema@rub.de
Phone: +27 11 717 7237

Keywords: Cavitation, antibubbles, therapeutic microbubbles, sonic cell manipulation and eradication

Read Bio
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Georg Schmitz

Address: Faculty for Electrical Engineering and Information Technology, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, 44780 Bochum, Germany

Email: Georg.Schmitz@rub.de
Phone: +49 234 32 27573

Keywords: ultrasound signal processing, ultrasound contrast media detection, linear and nonlinear image reconstruction, superresolution imaging, photoacoustic imaging.

Read Bio
Prof. Katherine J. Kirk

Address: University of the West of Scotland, School of Engineering and Computing, Paisley Campus, Paisley, PA1 2BE Scotland UK

Email: katherine.kirk@uws.ac.uk
Phone: +44 141 848 3409

Keywords: ultrasonics, thin film, sensors, non-destructive testing, high temperature

Read Bio
Professor Alireza BAGHAI-WADJI

Address: University of Cape Town, Ronde Bosch, Western Cape, 7701, South Africa

Email: alireza.baghai-wadji@uct.ac.za
Phone: +27(21)6504018

Keywords: Theory, Modelling, Simulation, Small-scale Devices, Materials

Read Bio
Qifa Zhou

Address: DRB130, BME, USC,1042 Downey Way, Los Angeles, CA 90089

Email: qifazhou@usc.edu
Phone: 213-8212651

Keywords: High Frequency Ultrasound, Piezoelectric Single Crystal, Photoacoustic Imaging, High Resolution Elastograph, Ophthalmic Imaging

Read Bio
Qiming Zhang

Address: N219, MSC, The Pennsylvania State University, Univ. Park, PA 16802

Email: qxz1@psu.edu
Phone: 814-863-8994

Keywords: Sensor and actuator, piezoelectric and ferroelectric effects, energy harvesting, energy storage, biomedical engineering

Read Bio
Robert J. McGough

Address: Michigan State University
Engineering Building
Electrical & Computer Engineering
428 S. Shaw Lane, Room 2120
East Lansing, MI 48824-1226

Email: mcgough@egr.msu.edu
Phone: 517-432-3333

Keywords: ultrasound simulations, fractional calculus, shear wave elasticity imaging, attenuation and dispersion

Read Bio
Robert Muratore *

Address: 49 Cedar Dr, Huntington NY 11743

Email: wave@quantumnow.com
Phone: 516 317 6326

Keywords: low intensity therapeutic ultrasound, neuromodulation, orthopedics

Read Bio
Roberto J. Lavarello

Address: Av. Universitaria 1801, San Miguel, Lima 32, Perú

Email: lavarello.rj@pucp.edu.pe
Phone: (+51) 1 626-2000 ext 4697

Keywords: Ultrasonic tissue characterization; beamforming; ultrasound medical imaging; acoustic tomography

Read Bio
Roger James Zemp

Address: Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, 11-203 Donadeo Innovation Centre for Engineering, University of Alberta, 9211-116 Street NW, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 1H9

Email: rzemp@ualberta.ca
Phone: 780-492-1825

Keywords: Photoacoustic Imaging, Ultrafast Ultrasound, Micromachined Ultrasound Transducers, Biomedical Optics, Molecular Imaging 

Read Bio
Ronald A. Roy

Address: Dept. of Engineering Science, University of Oxford, Parks Road, Oxford OX1 3PJ, United Kingdom

Email: ronald.roy@hmc.ox.ac.uk
Phone: +44 1865 283452

Keywords: ultrasonics, cavitation, bubbles, biomedical, photoacoustics

Read Bio
S. Lori Bridal

Address: Laboratoire d'Imagerie Biomédicale, 15 rue de l'école de médecine, 75006 Paris, France

Email: lori.bridal@upmc.fr
Phone: +33 6 63 74 44 13

Keywords: contrast agents, microvascularization, preclinical ultrasound, quantititve ultrasound, signal/image analysis

Read Bio
Sevan Harput

Address: Division of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, London South Bank University, London, SE1 0AA, UK

Email: harputs@lsbu.ac.uk
Phone: +44 (0) 20 7815 7555

Keywords: high frame-rate ultrasound imaging, super-resolution imaging, ultrasound contrast agents, signal processing

Read Bio
Shujun Zhang *

Address: University of Wollongong, Wollongong, NSW 2500, Australia

Email: shujun@uow.edu.au
Phone: +61-242981479

Keywords: Piezoelectric; Dielectric; Ferroelectric; Crystal; Ceramic

Read Bio
Sleiman R. Ghorayeb

Address: 104 Weed Hall, Hempstead, NY 11549

Email: Sleiman.R.Ghorayeb@hofstra.edu
Phone: +1 (516) 463-4918

Keywords: Noninvasive ultrasonic Imaging, surgical, and therapeutic techniques, sensor/actuator/transducer Design, microelectromechanical systems (MEMS), signal and image processing, tissue characterization

Read Bio
Stanislav Emelianov

Address:

Email: stas@gatech.edu
Phone: 1-404-385-0373

Keywords: Contrast-enhanced Imaging, Molecular probes, Image-guided therapy, Elasticity, Photoacoustics

Read Bio
Svetoslav Ivanov Nikolov

Address: BK Medical Aps; Mileparken 34; 2730 Herlev

Email: nikolov.svetoslav@gmail.com
Phone: +45 44528207

Keywords: beamforming; elastography; flow estimation; signal processing;

Read Bio
Timothy A Bigelow *

Address: Iowa State University, Center for Nondestructive Evaluation, IA 50011

Email: bigelow@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-4177

Keywords: Ultrasound tissue characterization, ultrasound therapy, histotripsy, nondestructive evaluation, additive manufacturing

Read Bio
Vera A. Khokhlova

Address: Dept. of Acoustics, Physics Faculty, M.V. Lomonosov Moscow State University, Moscow 119991

Email: vera@acs366.phys.msu.ru
Phone: +7(495)939-2952

Keywords: HIFU, nonlinear propagation, simulations, bioeffects

Read Bio
Vincent Laude

Address: Institut FEMTO-ST, 15B Avenue des Montboucons 25030 Besançon Cedex, France

Email: vincent.laude@femto-st.fr
Phone: +33 (3) 63 08 24 57

Keywords: Phononic crystals, acoustic metamaterials, acousto-optics, surface acoustic waves, Brillouin light scattering

Read Bio
Weibao Qiu

Address: Paul C. Lauterbur Research Center for Biomedical Imaging, Shenzhen Institutes of Advanced Technology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 1068 Xueyuan Ave., Shenzhen University Town, Nanshan, Shenzhen 518055, China

Email: wb.qiu@siat.ac.cn
Phone: +86-755-86392284

Keywords: High frequency imaging, System & device design, Piezoelectric transducer, Ultrasound neuromodulation, Medical ultrasound

Read Bio
Yook-Kong Yong

Address: Dept. of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Rutgers University, 96 Frelinghuysen Road, Piscataway NJ 08854, U.S.A.

Email: yook.kong@gmail.com
Phone: 848 445 3219

Keywords: Numerical modeling; BAW and SAW piezoelectric resonators and filters; frequency-temperature behavior; vibration and acceleration sensitivity; magnetostrictive resonators.

Read Bio
Zhen Xu

Address: 2200 Bonisteel Blvd., Rm 1107 Gerstacker Bldg., Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2099

Email: zhenx@umich.edu
Phone: 734-647-4961

Keywords: histotripsy, therapeutic ultrasound, cavitation, transducer

Read Bio